Scott Walker's Early Solo Career Documented in New Box Set

Scott Walker's Early Solo Career Documented in New Box Set
While Scott Walker smashed realities once again with last year's hyper-avant-garde Bish Bosch LP, some of the veteran singer's more pop-minded back catalogue will be toasted in a new box set accurately titled Scott Walker: The Collection 1967-1970.

The package arrives June 3 in the UK via UMC/Mercury and will contain Walker's first five solo LPs: Scott, Scott 2, Scott 3, Scott 4 and 'Til the Band Comes In. The albums have been remastered for both the CD and vinyl editions, with both Scott and Scott 2 appearing in previously unreleased mono editions.

The platters themselves are being pressed onto 180-gram vinyl, and the box will feature the original artwork for each album. Also included in the vinyl box are an 11-inch print replicated from Scott 2 and a 48-page booklet that contains an essay written by Rob Young and four archival interviews from the era originally run by NME and Melody Maker.

As for the CD package, it will have a 16-page booklet featuring Young's essay, but none of the interviews.

It should be noted that while the box is an UK exclusive, North American repress hub 4 Men With Beards currently stocks the albums on wax, save 'Til the Band Comes In.

In other news, Walker's Bisch Bosch will be presented live in Sydney this spring as Bish Bosch: Ambisymphonic.

Thanks to The Quietus for the tip.

Scott (1967):

1. Mathilde
2. Montague Terrace (In Blue)
3. Angelica
4. The Lady Came from Baltimore
5. When Joanna Loved Me
6. My Death
7. The Big Hurt
8. Such a Small Love
9. You're Gonna Hear From Me
10. Through a Long and Sleepless Night
11. Always Coming Back to You
12. Amsterdam

Scott 2 (1968):

1. Jackie
2. Best of Both Worlds
3. Black Sheep Boy
4. The Amorous Humphrey Plugg
5. Next
6. The Girls from the Streets
7. Plastic Palace People
8. Wait Until Dark
9. The Girls and the Dogs
10. Windows of the World
11. The Bridge
12. Come Next Spring

Scott 3 (1969):

1. It's Raining Today
2. Copenhagen
3. Rosemary
4. Big Louise
5. We Came Through
6. Butterfly
7. Two Ragged Soldiers
8. 30 Century Man
9. Winter Night
10. Two Weeks Since You've Gone
11. Sons Of
12. Funeral Tango
13. If You Go Away

Scott 4 (Nov 1969):

1. The Seventh Seal 2. On Your Own Again
3. The World's Strongest Man
4. Angels of Ashes
5. Boy Child
6. Hero of the War
7. The Old Man's Back Again (Dedicated to the Neo-Stalinist Regime)
8. Duchess
9. Get Behind Me
10. Rhymes of Goodbye

Till The Band Comes In (1970):

1. Prologue
2. Little Things (That Keep Us Together)
3. Joe
4. Thanks for Chicago Mr. James
5. Long About Now (Sung by Esther Ofarim)
6. Time Operator
7. Jean the Machine
8. Cowbells Shakin
9. 'Til the Band Comes In
10. The War Is Over (Sleepers)
11. Stormy
12. The Hills of Yesterday
13. Reuben James
14. What Are You Doing the Rest of Your Life
15. It's Over