Kellarissa Returns with Moon of Neptune

Kellarissa Returns with <i>Moon of Neptune</i>
Larissa Loyva is a Vancouver indie scene all-star. Over the years the singer has performed with countless acts, from indie poppers P:ano to the massive vocal troupe the Choir Practice to the '60s-R&B-minded Gigi. This spring also sees Loyva backing up Destroyer on his upcoming North American tour. But while the singer has a knack for supporting her friends, her most stunning performances are reserved for her solo project, Kellarissa. Despite her busy schedule, the singer is, thankfully, now set to release her sophomore set Moon of Neptune.

The follow-up to her 2008 debut Flamingo, Moon of Neptune furthers that album's atmospheric blend of synths, fuzzed-out textures and gorgeous vocal layering. A press release for the record explains that the album "is a synth nerd's dream, inspired by ancient Egypt, breakups, [Loyva's] Scandinavian heritage and outer space."

Two songs from the set, "Passages" and "Undock," are up now on Kellarissa's Bandcamp page, and both are testaments to Loyva's dedication of pairing rapturous vocal hooks with haunting keyboard lines.

Mint Records is set to release Moon of Neptune digitally and as limited-edition LP (only 500 will be pressed) on March 29. Check out the tracklisting below and the cover above.

Moon of Neptune:

1. "Passages"
2. "Moon of Neptune"
3. "Sisu"
4. "Satellites are Spinning"
5. "Niagara"
6. "Flatlands"
7. "Blood + Sand"
8. "Vagabond"
9. "Undock"
10. "Old Money"