David Bowie's 'The Man Who Sold the World' Gets 50th Anniversary Reissue as 'Metrobolist'

The 1970 album will be re-released under its original title and with its original artwork
David Bowie's 'The Man Who Sold the World' Gets 50th Anniversary Reissue as 'Metrobolist'
Once again, we're getting a new David Bowie reissue — but this time with a twist. The late rock hero's 1970 classic The Man Who Sold the World will be reissued in honour of its 50th anniversary, though under the name Metrobolist.

As legend has it, Metrobolist was what Bowie originally wanted to call The Man Who Sold the World, with the album title serving as a tribute to Fritz Lang's 1927 film. But when Mercury Records released the album in 1970, the label changed the name on Bowie at the very last minute without his approval.

That old wrong will be made right with the new reissue via Parlophone Records, which will re-release the album as Metrobolist on November 6 and with its original artwork.

The art you see above was done by Mike Weller, and a similar version of it was used on the original pressing of The Man Who Sold the World. For the reissue, the package will now come as a gatefold and feature unseen images from Keith MacMillan's "dress" shoot at Haddon Hall that would go on to serve as the cover for later editions of the album.

Metrobolist will be pressed on 180-gram black vinyl, as well as on limited-edition, numbered gold and white vinyl editions that will be all randomly distributed. It will also be available digitally.

The reissue will feature new mixing by original producer Tony Visconti, though he left the album's "After All" alone, as Visconti explained in a press release that he considered it perfect as it already was.

Metrobolist (a.k.a. The Man Who Sold the World):

1. The Width of a Circle
2. All the Madmen
3. Black Country Rock
4. After All
5. Running Gun Blues
6. Saviour Machine
7. She Shook Me Cold
8. The Man Who Sold the World
9. The Supermen