Animal Collective's Deakin Streams 'Sleep Cycle' Solo LP, Shares "Just Am" Video

Animal Collective's Deakin Streams 'Sleep Cycle' Solo LP, Shares 'Just Am' Video
Animal Collective's Deakin has been hinting at an upcoming solo record for a long time now, and the details have finally been announced. Titled Sleep Cycle, the record is due out this week, arriving digitally on April 8.
As previously reported, work on the album began back in 2009 after Deakin successfully crowdfunded a trip to Timbuktu, Mali. That trip inspired the record, and backers of that initial campaign will be the only ones able to get their hands on a physical copy of the release. According to a press release, the gifts to donors (amongst them a cassette version of the album, books, posters, bonus tracks, videos, etc.) have already been sent out.
After an initial delay delivering the record and its accompanying rewards, there was speculation that Deakin had used the $26,000 raised to simply cover his travel costs. The press release has now clarified the situation, stating:
Due to personal and professional issues the project has been delayed for years. Most speculated that Deakin used the money that was raised to cover his own travel expenses. This was not the case. The entire trip and all of the subsequent costs to design manufacture and deliver the rewards were self funded except for a small portion that was set aside to help with a portion of shipping and manufacturing costs.
With the controversy behind him, he's now detailed the record itself. The songs were conceived back in 2010, but were primarily recorded last year. Nicolas Vernhes helped with the recording of "Footy" and "Good House," with Tim Dewit (of Gang Gang Dance) playing drums on the former and Pete Kember (a.k.a. Sonic Boom) providing the mixing on the latter.
See the tracklisting for Sleep Cycle below. Beyond that, the album is now streaming in its entirety via Bandcamp. You can give it a listen, then keep scrolling down to watch the brand new accompanying video for "Just Am."
Sleep Cycle:
1. Golden Chords
2. Just Am
3. Shadow Mine
4. Footy
5. Seed Song
6. Good House