Yet Another Jim O'Rourke Reissue On the Way

Yet Another Jim O'Rourke Reissue On the Way
Following a recent string of reissues, avant-composer extraordinaire Jim O'Rourke is again on deck to release another one. Come May 12, the folks over at Mego will re-release O'Rourke's 2001 record I'm Happy and I'm Singing and a 1, 2, 3, 4, which easily stands as one of our favourite electronic albums, like, ever.

Dubbed as O'Rourke's "laptop record" or "PowerBook album," this crackling slab of digital bliss will be reissued as a fancied-up double-disc package, sticking to the original three-song tracklisting for the first and throwing three über-rare cuts on the second. Those electronic-styled bonus tracks include "Let's Take It Again from the Top," which was originally included on P-Vine's Japanese edition of the record, the previously unreleased "Getting the Vapors," and "He Who Laughs," a track that was made for Herbert Brenon's silent film of the same name and in 2002 was release as a very limited twelve-inch. Add in the fact that the album comes with some new artwork and has been out of print for a good five years, and basically you have a package worthy of at least a bit of drool.

As far as O'Rouke's long-promised follow-up to 2001's Insignificance is concerned, well, it's nowhere to be seen. Even Drag City has shut up about it. Perhaps he's just waiting until 2011 to release it so that it will be an entire decade between albums.

I'm Happy and I'm Singing and a 1, 2, 3, 4 reissue:

Disc One:

1. "I'm Happy"
2. "And I'm Singing"
3. "And a 1, 2, 3, 4"

Disc Two:

1. "Let's Take It Again from the Top"
2. "Getting the Vapors"
3. "He Who Laughs"