Wake Island Unveil Sophomore Album, Premiere "Never Entirely There"

Wake Island Unveil Sophomore Album, Premiere 'Never Entirely There'
After showing off new material with a string of videos, Wake Island have announced the details behind their sophomore record. Furthering their experimentation with electronic and pop music, Out is set to arrive on April 29 through the band's own Oh Hi.

Marking their sophomore album, Out sees Philippe Manasseh and Nadim Maghzal blend electronic, pop and rock music, pairing their compositions with lyrical themes of self-discovery through immigration and adapting to new environments. The entire record was written and recorded in isolation, with the pair removing themselves from their Montreal and New York City settings.

"Electronic music always fascinated us but we knew nothing about it, so we rented a cabin for a month and completely removed ourselves from our surroundings," explained vocalist Manasseh in a statement. "We learnt everything during that time and reimagined our whole songwriting approach by experimenting with different instruments and technologies. Everything started making sense to us at that point."

An album launch show will take place on April 30 at Montreal's Bar Le Ritz. Scroll through the record's tracklisting and tour dates to hear "Never Entirely There" in the player below.


1. Carácter
2. Never Entirely There
3. The Other End
4. How Sad
5. Our Eyes Are Melting Up
6. Comfortably
7. Milad Majik
8. Spring Break 2019 (I Feel Nothing)
9. Bend Again

Tour dates:

04/08 New York, NY - Arlene's Grocery
04/23 Montreal, QC - SAT Dome*
04/30 Montreal, QC - Bar Le Ritz P.D.B.
05/06 Toronto, ON - Burdock
05/07 Toronto, ON - Handlebar
05/29 Liverpool, UK - Cargo Stage

* with Young Galaxy