Jim O'Rourke Returns with 'Simple Songs'

Jim O'Rourke Returns with 'Simple Songs'
Beloved experimental icon Jim O'Rourke hasn't released a proper solo album since 2009's The Visitor, though he's kept plenty busy since then. The Chicago-based multi-instrumentalist has collaborated with many different artists, most recently teaming up with Oren Ambarchi on this year's Behold. He's back to working solo, however, with a new album set to arrive shortly.

The release is called Simple Songs, and features eight new compositions from O'Rourke. According to a press release, the album sees the artist singing throughout, utilizing his voice for the first time in a decade. Further, "the music's got OCD quality, played so immaculately by so many instruments, and most of them by the creator's hands."

The write-up continues, suggesting Simple Songs has a world-weary quality to it. "The rest of the world is still a mystery and a bottomless source of aggravation for the old boy. What do we care? We get a great new album out of it."

Simple Songs will arrive on May 19 via Drag City. Until then, a brief snippet of the album is available below.

Simple Songs:

1. Friends With Benefits
2. That Weekend
3. Half Life Crisis
4. Hotel Blue
5. These Hands
6. Last Year
7. End Of The Road
8. All Your Love